July 16, 2024

EFCC arrests 18 suspects for illegal mining in Kwara

Eighteen suspects have been arrested for offences bordering on illegal mining activities by operatives of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, Ilorin Zonal Directorate.

Also, 13 truckloads with assorted solid minerals suspected to be lithium, marble stone, white powder, lepidolite, among others, were arrested and recovered from the suspects.

The suspects are Saidu Madugu, Adamu Amadu, Lawal Ibrahim, Mohammed Mustapha, Abdulkarim Hassaini, Isiaka Abubakar, Shafiu Salisu, Abdullahi Yanda Isa, and Bashiru Mohammed.

Others include Anas Saidu, Asa Bature, Abudu Sani, Jabir Salisu, Bello Muhammed, Habilu Idris, Fatai Abdullai, Isyiaka Hamidu and Oseni Lukman.

The suspects were arrested on Tuesday, June 11, 2024, except the trio of Fatai, Isyiaka and Oseni, that were arrested on Thursday, June 13, 2024, according to a statement by Dele Oyewale, Head, Media and Publicity of the commission.

The arrest followed credible intelligence about the activities of some suspects conveying illegally mined solid minerals along Eiyenkorin – Ballah route in Asa Local Government of Kwara State, without lawful authority.

The arrest of the suspects and interception of the trucks were executed in collaboration with the patrol team of the Nigeria Customs Service, NCS, Kwara Area Command along Eiyenkorin and Ballah in Asa Local Government of Kwara State.

The Ilorin Zonal Directorate had on Wednesday, June 5, 2024, arrested eleven suspects and impounded eight trucks for similar offences.

“The suspects will be arraigned in court upon the conclusion of ongoing investigations,” the statement added.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *